在新加坡,如果已故者没有留下遗嘱,将根据法律来确定如何分配管理他的遗产。法庭颁布的遗产管理证书中将明确地规定了谁可以成为亡者的遗产管理者(包括债务)。相反,如果有留下有效的遗嘱,法院将通过遗嘱认证来执行遗嘱。遗嘱认证但也有例外,在某些情况下即便手中有遗嘱,申请人仍需要获得遗产管理证书。例如,无论出于何种原因,遗嘱中制定的遗嘱执行人无法履行其职责。

根据新加坡《无遗嘱遗产继承法令》中的相关规定,为非穆斯林分配没有遗嘱的遗产。通过《遗嘱认证及遗产管理条例》中指定的相关程序可以获得遗产管理证书。此外,家事法庭也为需要继承无遗嘱财产的申请人提供指导方法。

然而,相关的文件及程序对于刚失去近亲,还处在悲伤情绪中的人来说,未免过于复杂和负担。因此,可以交由专业的律师代为处理,他们将会在收集和核实文件,填写表格以及和法院交涉方面提供很大的帮助。

什么是遗产管理证书?

新加坡家事法庭在死者没有签署遗嘱就离世的情况下,会发出名为《遗产法庭令》的文件,授权指定的人作为死者的遗产管理人。

也存在拥有有效的遗嘱,但是法庭会授予带有附加条件的遗产管理证书。例如:

  • 遗嘱中没有指定的遗嘱执行人,
  • 遗嘱执行人出于各种原因,不能履行其职责,
  • 遗嘱执行人没有放弃了他的权利,或没有获得遗嘱认证,
  • 遗嘱执行人在获得遗嘱认证之前,或在他们分配遗产之前就去世了。

谁可以成为遗产管理人?

《遗嘱认证及遗嘱管理法令》中详细列明了谁可以申请遗产管理证书,成为故者的遗产管理人。根据法律,法庭可能将遗产管理证书授予丈夫、遗孀及近亲。

最多可以委任四个人成为遗产管理者,在这种情况下大家必须对遗产有关的行动达成一致。如果其中一名受益人年龄低于21岁,法庭将指定不少于两名的遗产管理者。如过受益人是婴儿、未成年或存在智力低下的情况,那么他们的法定监护人/代理人则需要介入。

提交申请所需要的文件

为开始申请遗产管理证书,必须要递交提交一些指定的文件。包括死者的死亡证明,以及离婚证明和近亲的死亡证明(如适用)。有必要的话,还需要出示国外的遗嘱认证。

其他需要提交的表格如下:

  • 遗产管理书的原诉传票
  • 资产明细表
  • 遗产管理宣誓
  • 支持性宣誓书
  • 请求提取遗嘱认证

在一些特定情况下,还会需要提交其他文件。例如在一众亲人中,有优先申请遗产管理书的死者家属放弃遗产,
(例如:相比较死者的子女,丈夫或妻子享有优先申请遗产管理证书的权利)那么必须将《放弃继承权声明书》必须连同其他常规的文件递交。

在新加坡申请遗产管理书

提交遗产管理书的第一步,就是收集相关文件,并递交表格。这些都是通过Crimsonlogic e-Litigation Service Bureau (“服务处”)完成。如果申请人未聘请律师,在递交表格时需要同时递交资产明细表。有时候,如果申请者不太确定死者的财产范围,则需要求助于金融机构,查询死者的遗产是否有任何资产或负债。此外,《放弃继承权声明书》也需要在这个阶段递交。

在申请递交阶段,申请人应该核实遗产是否有转让禁令,或是其他的产权负担。这些文件都应该作为原诉传票的附件进行递交。因此,在对遗产的产权信息进行核实,在支付申请费用的同时,所有的相关文件及证书都通过服务局递交。

紧接着,所有的申请文件都将由服务局转交法院确认。如果一切正常,法院将将确认接受并且通过短信的方式通知申请者。

此时,申请人需要提交遗产管理宣誓和支持性宣誓书,这两份文件都应在提出申请后的14天内完成。申请人可在宣誓官的见证下进行文件确认,之后再交由服务局。

完成所有程序上的步骤,并且得到法院的认可后,法院将可能在取消听证会的情况下通过申请,申请人之后会收到司法常务官的通知信。之后提交要求的相关文件(这些都可以电子诉讼门户网站完成),最后只需要等待法院寄送关于提取遗产管理书要求的信函。

新加坡无遗嘱继承受益人

《无遗嘱继承法》中有9条规定,涵盖了如何分配已故者的遗产。根据条例,受益人的先后顺序按以下排列:

  1. 配偶及子女,
  2. 父母,
  3. 兄弟姐妹及其子女,
  4. 祖父母,
  5. 姑姑、姨妈和叔叔、舅舅

如果已故者没有孩子和父母,那么配偶可以继承所有遗产。 否则,配偶有权获得一半的遗产,并与子女分享剩下的一半财产。如果已故者没有孩子,那么则与已故者的父母分享剩下的财产。已故者的兄弟姐妹(包括他们的孩子、祖父母、阿姨及叔叔),只有在已故者没有其他近亲的情况下,才有权分享其财产。

其他考虑因素

需要注意的是,根据新加坡法律,受益人只有在取得遗产管理书后,才有权使用无遗嘱已故者的遗产。再次之前,这些财产原则上隶属于公共信托。任何想要申请财产管理书的近亲必须在已故者离世后的9个月之内完成申请。否则需要解释延迟申请的原因。

一旦获得遗产管理书后,管理者必须承担已故者所有的债务,比如丧葬费及其他任何未支付的费用。只有在所有的开销、花费负债都清算完毕后,遗产管理者才可以分配遗嘱给受益人。

然而在新加坡,如果已故者是穆斯林,那么所有的无遗嘱遗产继承程序将完全不同。在这种情况下,拥有已故者财产最高份额的人(依据遗产证书进行分配)将被任命为遗产管理员。此外,《穆斯林法律》及《伊斯兰教法》还对无遗嘱继承有其他详细的规定。

总结

如果已故者没有留下遗嘱,或是 遗嘱执行人出于任何原因未能执行遗嘱中的条款,那么死者的近亲将可作为遗产管理者,有权利管理他的生后财产。遗产管理证书是遗嘱认证的替代品,两者基本上具有相同的功能,可以授权管理者使用已故者的财产。

虽然获取遗产管理证书的流程大体上看起来相对直接,但一个有经验的律师可以大大帮助您缩减时间成本,避免不必要的错误。

Similar articles

离婚理由

离婚理由

在新加坡民事离婚案件受《妇女宪章》管辖。在这篇文章中,我们将详细讲解在新加坡提出离婚的原因。 申请离婚的资格和限制 根据妇女宪章第93和94...

10.25.2020
Read more
制止函

制止函

律师事务所可以在正式法律诉讼开始前,向被告发出制止函,通常此类律师函包含要求对方停止某一行为,并且再也不从事,以及要求对相关损失进行赔偿,否...

08.13.2020
Read more
什么情况下需要遗产管理证书?

什么情况下需要遗产管理证书?

在新加坡,如果已故者没有留下遗嘱,将根据法律来确定如何分配管理他的遗产。法庭颁布的遗产管理证书中将明确地规定了谁可以成为亡者的遗产管理者(包...

08.13.2020
Read more

In Singapore, when someone passes away but leaves no Will, the law sets out how to administer the estate of the deceased. It also outlines the type of person who can act as administrators of the deceased’s assets and other affairs (like liabilities) under a court order known as Letters of Administration. In contrast, when a person dies and does leave a valid Will, the court will give effect to that Will through an order (grant) known as a Grant of Probate. However, there are exceptions to these rules. Sometimes, an application for Letters of Administration will have to be made, even though there is a valid Will – for example, where the executors appointed in the Will fail to carry out their duties, for whatever reason.

The distribution of so-called intestate estates for non-Muslims (not covered by a valid Will) is done according to the rules set out in the Intestate Succession Act of Singapore. A grant of Letters of Administration is obtained via the process outlined in the Probate and Administration Act. In addition, the Family Justice Courts have also provided a Probate and Administration Toolkit for people who need guidance in order to file an application to become administrators of the intestate estates.

However, these documents and procedures may be too complex and burdensome for the next of kin to follow, when they are under stress and are emotional following the death of a loved one. In this case, an experienced estate lawyer should be contacted, who will be of great help in collecting and verifying documentation, completing forms, and interacting with the court.

What are Letters of Administration?

The Family Justice Courts in Singapore issue a document known as the Grant of Letters of Administration, which authorises persons named in it to act as administrators the estate of the deceased. It is issued where the deceased passed away without writing a Will.

Cases can arise where a valid Will does exist, but the court will grant the Letters of Administration with the Will annexed instead of probate. These cases can occur where:

  • No executors were appointed in the Will,
  • The executors are not capable of acting, for whatever reason,
  • The executors have renounced their rights or did not appear to obtain probate,
  • All executors themselves die before the testator who made the Will,
  • All executors die prior to obtaining probate, or before they can distribute the estate.

Who Can Become an Administrator of an Estate?

The Probate and Administration Act lists persons who can apply for the Grant of the Letters of Administration and be appointed as administrators of the intestate estate. The law says the court may grant the Letter of Administration to any of the following people: the husband, widow, or next of kin.

Up to 4 administrators may be appointed to act jointly – and in this situation, they must all agree on their actions relating to the estate. If one of the beneficiaries is below the age of 21 years, then the court will appoint no fewer than two administrators. If a beneficiary is an infant, a minor or lacks mental capacity, then their lawful guardian/deputy should step in and make the grant application.

Documents Required to File an Application

In order to begin an application for Grant of Letters of Administration, a number of particular documents must be submitted. These include the death certificate of the deceased, as well as their divorce certificate and next of kin’s death certificate, if applicable. If necessary, a foreign grant must be presented too.

The other forms which are required to be filed are as follows:

  • Originating summons for Letters of Administration
  • Schedule of Assets
  • Administration Oath
  • Supporting Affidavit
  • Request to Extract the Grant

Occasionally, other forms are needed too. For example, in situations where one of the next of kin who has a prior right over other relations (i.e. a husband or wife will have prior right over the deceased’s children to make the Letters of Administration application) decides to renounce that right, then a form called a Renunciation of the Beneficiaries with the Prior Right must be submitted, together with the usual application.

Applying for Letters of Administration in Singapore

The first step to filing for the Grant of Letter of Administration is to gather the relevant documentation and submitting the application form – this is done via the Crimsonlogic e-Litigation Service Bureau (“Service Bureau”). If the applicant has not engaged a lawyer to do so, then they should file the application along with the Schedule of Assets. Sometimes, if an applicant is unsure about the scope of the deceased’s property, they will need to enquire with financial institutions in order to check whether the deceased’s estate had any assets or liabilities. At this stage, the Renunciation of the Beneficiaries with Prior Rights, if any, is also submitted.

At the application filing stage, an applicant should check the records of the court regarding caveats and other potential encumbrances on the estate. They should attach this report to the originating summons. Following the caveats check, they should submit all of the forms and certified documents at the Service Bureau, once they have paid the applicable fees.

The documents will then be forwarded to the Court by the Service Bureau, and the Court will check the application. If everything is in order, the Court will confirm acceptance and send confirmation to the applicant via SMS message.

The applicant, at this point, should provide the Supporting Affidavit and Administration Oath – this must be done within 14 days of filing the application. The applicant can affirm these documents in the presence of a Commissioner of Oaths. They then file them with the Service Bureau.

If the Court deems that all the above procedural steps have been fulfilled as required, then it may grant the application without hearing, and give a Registrar’s notice to the applicant. The one remaining step is to receive the Court’s letter relating to the Request to Extract the Grant, which can be obtained upon submission of the relevant form, available through the e-Litigation portal.

Beneficiaries of Intestate Succession in Singapore

There are 9 rules set out in the Intestate Succession Act which cover the distribution of the intestate’s estate. The beneficiaries are set in the following order by law:

  1. Spouse and children,
  2. Parents,
  3. Brothers, sisters, and their children,
  4. Grandparents,
  5. Aunts and uncles

The law states that the siblings (along with their children, grandparents, aunts and uncles) are only entitled to a share of the estate in the absence of any other next of kin who have a higher priority right. If there are no children or parents of the deceased, then the spouse will be entitled to the whole of the estate. Otherwise, the spouse will be entitled to one half of the intestate’s property, and shall share the rest with children – or, if there are none, with the deceased’s parents.

Other considerations

It is important to remember that, under Singapore law, the intestate’s property is only available to the beneficiaries after the Grant of the Letters of Administration. Until that point, the estate technically rests with the Public trustee. Any next of kin wanting to apply for the grant should do so within six months of the intestate’s death – otherwise, they must explain their reasons for delaying.

Once they have obtained the grant, the administrator must cover all of the deceased’s liabilities, such as funeral expenses and unpaid debts, if any. Only after the expenses, costs and liabilities are settled, can the administrator begin distributing the estate to the beneficiaries.

However, there is a different procedure for distributing the intestate property of Muslims in Singapore. In this scenario, the person who holds the highest share in the intestate property (defined by the Inheritance Certificate) will be appointed as the administrator. The Muslim Law Act and the Syariah Law set down the other rules related to Muslim intestacy.

Summary

If the deceased has left no will, or the executors have failed to carry out the terms of the Will for whatever reason, then management of the estate of the deceased is carried out by the next of kin with the prior right, acting as administrators. The Grant of the Letters of Administration is a substitute to the Grant of Probate, and fulfils basically the same function – it allows the administrators to gain access to the deceased’s property.

Although the procedure for obtaining the Grant of the Letters of Administration may look relatively straightforward, an experienced estate lawyer can help to simplify the process for you.

Similar articles

Grounds for Divorce

Grounds for Divorce

In Singapore, civil divorce cases are governed by the Women’s Charter. In this article, we will talk through the legal grounds for divorce in Singapore. Eligibility and restrictions to file for divorce According to sections 93 and 94 of the Women’s Charter, the following eligibility requirements must be met to file for divorce in Singapore: At least one of the parties must be domiciled in Singapore at the time the...

10.25.2020
Read more
Cease and Desist Letters

Cease and Desist Letters

Law firms can issue cease and desist letters to potential defendants before the commencement of formal legal proceedings. Such letters usually contain demands to stop a continued breach or infringement and request payment of damages. Ultimately, these letters aim to achieve the following objectives: Send a clear signal to the defendant that you are serious about having your legal rights enforced Lets you state your legal position in detail with...

08.13.2020
Read more
When are Letters of Administration Required?

When are Letters of Administration Required?

In Singapore, when someone passes away but leaves no Will, the law sets out how to administer the estate of the deceased. It also outlines the type of person who can act as administrators of the deceased’s assets and other affairs (like liabilities) under a court order known as Letters of Administration. In contrast, when a person dies and does leave a valid Will, the court will give effect to...

08.13.2020
Read more