律师事务所可以在正式法律诉讼开始前,向被告发出制止函,通常此类律师函包含要求对方停止某一行为,并且再也不从事,以及要求对相关损失进行赔偿,否则将面临法律诉讼。此类信件主要能达到以下几种目的:

  1. 向被告发出明确的信号,您对该问题高度重视,并有权行通过法律途径维护自身利益。
  2. 让你有机会向对方详细阐明你的法律立场,让被告了解有充足的法律条例来维护你坚定的立场。
  3. 通过及时制止侵权方声称自己是出于好意才作出有关举动,或者在之后的诉讼中以根本不知情为借口,从而捍卫您的法律立场。

需要注意的是,律师信函并非法院传票或指令,并且信函的价格并不贵。但他们具有解决问题的实际功能。因此我们建议由律师来起草制止函。并且列出信函发出后可能发生的后续,例如对方完全不重视或驳回你的要求。

什么情况可以制止函

在很多的情况下,制止函都能够派上用场。以下是最常见的几种情况,比如:

  • 版权,商标,公司或组织标志(Logo)或专利被侵权。最常见的案例,包括有人剽窃或企图使用他人品牌的名字或商标。
  • 诋毁或诽谤。诋毁是指口头散布他人虚假事实,诽谤指以书面形式捏造他人负面信息。其中包括但不限于商业上的竞争对手捏造虚假的负面评价,或在任何情况下有人侵犯了你的声誉。
  • 跟踪及其他的骚扰。制止函不会取消或清楚你的债务。但它可能有助于阻止骚扰您的收债员与与您通信。但需要注意的是,向骚扰或跟踪你的人发送律师信函可能会促使对方采取进一步的行动。带来更多不利的影响。因此,在这种情况下,您还应该考虑当其他合法的防治骚扰的方法。
  • 违反合同。合同被侵犯的方式有很多种,无论是明示还是暗示。制止涵可以作为正式的要求,警醒另一方停止有关侵权行为。
  • 侵占地界。这非常常见,例如:邻居侵占土地权。但是在涉及邻里侵权的问题方面,我们不建议您第一步就采取发送制止信的措施。但是,如果您以其他非正式的方式提示邻居但未能达到预期的效果,则可以使用制止函。

一封制止函中应包括哪些信息?

在新加坡,并没有对制止函的要求和内容有详细严格的正式规定。但是为了确保信函的有效性,起草一封制止函,必须依照依照一些特定的准则,应用相关法律事务。除了要以法律的特定语言书写外,信函还应该包括以下相关信息和声明:

    • 信函发送者的信息,以确保接受者及其律师在想要沟通及回复的情况下,知道与谁联系。
    • 接受人的具体信息,包括他们正确的名字及地址。
    • 对侵犯行为的具体描述。例如:被侵犯的具体事务,无论是版权,界限,名誉或是隐私。
    • 让对方停止侵权的具体要求。
    • 要求对方停止其侵权行为的法律依据。例如版权注册证书,或是其他所有权证明。
    • 详细说明如果接受者不遵守,将会面临的后续法律程序。
    • 保留您的权利。例如,您有权要求就您的损失要求对方进行赔偿。此外,及时对方纠正了他的侵权行为,您依旧可以使用法律救济,补救您的损失。

律师在整个过程中将起到什么作用

正如我们所见,虽然制止函看起来像是双方之间的私人来文,但是在新加坡它需要被制作成为一份正式的文件,以此来反映发送者和接受真实的法律立场。

每个人都能够通过各种渠道,例如上网搜索找到制止信函的模板,但在起草过程中有专业的法律建议是更好的选择。通过自己起草制止信函,你可以省下一小笔钱,但我们需要提示您的是,由律师事务所代为发出的信函,会让您的声明和令其停止侵权的要求更有分量。

聘请律师的另一个好处是,收信人很大概率会将信件交由他们的律师,进行分析及研究。并且确定您提出的要求是否有法律根据,以及他们的当事人行为是否合理、正当。由法律专业人士撰写信函通常会带来很多正面效果,因为这将确保您的陈述准确无误,并给予收件人证明,您已经准备好在必要时采取法律行动。

在新加坡,如何寄出制止函

您需要以纸质形式发送该信函。并且行文需要以正式的语气,从而让让您的信函达到您预期的效果。但有时候也有可能会通过电子邮件附件的方式,或纯文本形式发送。

寄制止信最快速及有效的方式,就是通过挂号信或是快递,并且要确保收到收件人的确认。如果之后诉诸法庭,那么收件人的确认将对您的立场大有益处。因为这这名了您是在这之前已经尝试了所有可行的法律途径。

根据您的需求

最理想的情况是,对方收到制止函之后,马上停止任何形式的侵权行为,并且予以相应赔偿。但是,在实际情况下,并不是每一起案例都能如此顺利,并且如果没有得到相应回应的话,需要及时采取进一步的行动。

你需要给收件人合理的时间去纠正他的违规行为,虽然大部分的制止信都会要求对方立即停止相关侵权行为。但是如果在发送制止函数天后,您仍未收到收信人的回复,并且对方并没有停止他的相关侵权活动。那么我们可以合理推断,他们忽略了您的要求。

如果发生了上述事实,对方那么您必须采取在制止函中所陈列的应对措施。如果他们继续侵权,而您又不采取任何措施,只会让事态恶化,因为对方将会认为您不会(或没有能力)为自己辩护。

人们常常会误以为跟进法律行动的费用,对他们来说太高了。与您的律师交谈,探讨所涉及的费用并以最佳处理方式做出明智的决定。

Similar articles

离婚理由

离婚理由

在新加坡民事离婚案件受《妇女宪章》管辖。在这篇文章中,我们将详细讲解在新加坡提出离婚的原因。 申请离婚的资格和限制 根据妇女宪章第93和94...

10.25.2020
Read more
制止函

制止函

律师事务所可以在正式法律诉讼开始前,向被告发出制止函,通常此类律师函包含要求对方停止某一行为,并且再也不从事,以及要求对相关损失进行赔偿,否...

08.13.2020
Read more
什么情况下需要遗产管理证书?

什么情况下需要遗产管理证书?

在新加坡,如果已故者没有留下遗嘱,将根据法律来确定如何分配管理他的遗产。法庭颁布的遗产管理证书中将明确地规定了谁可以成为亡者的遗产管理者(包...

08.13.2020
Read more

Law firms can issue cease and desist letters to potential defendants before the commencement of formal legal proceedings. Such letters usually contain demands to stop a continued breach or infringement and request payment of damages. Ultimately, these letters aim to achieve the following objectives:

  1. Send a clear signal to the defendant that you are serious about having your legal rights enforced
  2. Lets you state your legal position in detail with the aim of persuading the defendant that your position is strong and sound
  3. Strengthens your position by stopping the offending party from claiming that they acted in good faith and that any violation on their part was unknown or unintentional.

Remember that these letters are not Court summons or orders, and they are quite inexpensive. As they are likely to help with the resolution of a matter, it is recommended that you ask advice from an experienced lawyer to draft a formal demand, laying out the consequences which would follow if your concerns are dismissed or not taken seriously enough.

When to Send a Cease and Desist Letter

Although there are numerous situations where these letters may be used, there are some common scenarios where they are used most often, such as:

  • Infringement of copyright, trademark, logo, or patent. A common example is where someone used content that is plagiarised or attempts to capitalise on someone else’s brand name or logo.
  • Slander or libel. Slander means verbally spreading defamatory allegations, whilst libel refers to written statements that describe someone in a negative way. This might include fake negative feedback written by competitors trying to destabilise your business or any scenario where your reputation is infringed by someone.
  • Stalking and other types of harassment. Cease and desist letters will not cancel or clear your debt, but they may help to stop unsolicited communication from a debt collector who is harassing you. However, note that sending demands to people who are harassing or stalking you may provoke them into taking further, more adverse actions. Therefore, in these cases, you should also consider other means of protecting yourself from harassment that are available in Singapore.
  • Infringement of contract. Contracts can be infringed in a number of ways, whether express or implied. Cease and desist letters can be used as a formal demand to the other party to cease this violation.
  • Encroachment of boundaries. This is common where, for example, a neighbour violates property lines. These letters are certainly not the recommended first step in cases involving an infringing neighbour, but they can be used if your other attempts at raising concerns in a more informal way do not achieve the desired outcome.

What Information Should be Included?

In Singapore, there are no formal rules or requirements for the content of a cease and desist letter. However, they should be drafted according to certain guidelines around good legal practice, to ensure they are effective. As well as being written in legal language, a letter should include the following relevant information and statements:

    • Information about the sender, so the recipient and their lawyers know who to contact if they want to negotiate or send a reply;
    • Details of the recipient, including their correct name and address;
    • A description of the violation – for example, the thing that has been infringed, whether it is copyright, a boundary, reputation or privacy;
    • Demand to cease the violation;
    • A summary of the legal grounds on which the demand is based – e.g. a copyright registration certificate, or other proof of ownership of the rights which are being violated;
    • A description of what the subsequent legal proceedings will be if the recipients fails to comply;
    • Reservation of your rights, for example, your right to claim compensation for damages, and use further legal remedies even if the offending party corrects their infringement.

How a lawyer can help

As we have seen, although the cease and desist letter seems like a private communication between two parties, in Singapore it should be made as a formal document, reflecting the true legal standing of both the sender and the recipient.

You may be able to find sample cease and desist letter templates, for example online, but it is often better to obtain professional legal advice. You may save money by drafting and sending the letter yourself, but remember that having the letter sent on your behalf, on paper with a law firm letterhead, can instantly add weight to your claim.

A further advantage to engaging a lawyer is that the recipient is likely to show your letter to their lawyer, who will study it and decide if you have grounds for your demands, and whether they are legitimate. It often helps to have the letter written by a legal professional as it ensures your statements are correct and demonstrates to the recipient that you are fully prepared to take legal action if necessary.

Method of Sending a Cease and Desist Letter in Singapore

You should send the letter in paper form to give it a formal tone and have the desired effect on the recipient, although you may sometimes send it by email attachment or as plain text.

The quickest and most effective way of sending the letter is by registered mail or courier, ensuring you get confirmation of receipt. If the matter later goes to court, such confirmation will benefit your case, because it demonstrates to the court that you have tried all legal means prior to filing your claim.

Following up on Your Demands

In an ideal world, once the recipient has received your letter they will stop their infringement and possibly give you compensation for the damages. However, in practice, this does not happen in every case, and if it doesn’t then you must take further steps quickly.

You should give the recipient reasonable time to correct their infringement, although most cease and desist letters will demand the infringement cease immediately. However, if you have heard nothing from the recipient after several days and the violation continues, it would be reasonable to conclude that they intend to ignore your demands.

If this happens, you must take the steps laid out in your letter regarding non-compliance. If they continue to violate and you do not follow it up with more action, then it will most likely worsen, as the perpetrator will think that you will not (or cannot) defend yourself.

Often, people will mistakenly think that follow up legal costs will be too high for them. Speak with your lawyer to explore the costs involved and make an informed decision on the best way to proceed.

Similar articles

Grounds for Divorce

Grounds for Divorce

In Singapore, civil divorce cases are governed by the Women’s Charter. In this article, we will talk through the legal grounds for divorce in Singapore. Eligibility and restrictions to file for divorce According to sections 93 and 94 of the Women’s Charter, the following eligibility requirements must be met to file for divorce in Singapore: At least one of the parties must be domiciled in Singapore at the time the...

10.25.2020
Read more
Cease and Desist Letters

Cease and Desist Letters

Law firms can issue cease and desist letters to potential defendants before the commencement of formal legal proceedings. Such letters usually contain demands to stop a continued breach or infringement and request payment of damages. Ultimately, these letters aim to achieve the following objectives: Send a clear signal to the defendant that you are serious about having your legal rights enforced Lets you state your legal position in detail with...

08.13.2020
Read more
When are Letters of Administration Required?

When are Letters of Administration Required?

In Singapore, when someone passes away but leaves no Will, the law sets out how to administer the estate of the deceased. It also outlines the type of person who can act as administrators of the deceased’s assets and other affairs (like liabilities) under a court order known as Letters of Administration. In contrast, when a person dies and does leave a valid Will, the court will give effect to...

08.13.2020
Read more